Egg incubation time

ArborealsAnonymous

Staff member
We know there is somewhat of a correlation between incubation temperature and duration, but has anyone else noticed a correlation between egg size when laid and incubation duration? Am I the only one that weighs my eggs when they are laid?

Dragonborn Exotics (Ryan)

Chahoua Hatchling
I am still new to chahoua breeding. I hatched out my first 2 babies last May. They were incubated for around 100 days at fluctuating room temps from 68-81 degrees. This seems to be faster than most of the incubation times I have read from other breeders. I have 2 eggs incubating right now in similar conditions and they are big and dark when candled. Wouldn't be surprised if they hatched around that 100 day mark again. I will update when and if they hatch.

What is everyone's average incubation time?

ArborealsAnonymous

Staff member
Last year, the one chahoua baby that hatched out strong was from a 4.8g egg that hatched at 105 days. This year I have a hatchling from a 5.1g egg that hatched at 108 days. I have two eggs that were laid at 6.5g and 6.7g that are still cooking at 117 days and a 4.3g egg thats looking extremely round and ready to burst at 96 days. Im keeping a spreadsheet to track all of this. My incubation temps have been ~77* with minimal variation.

Chahoua Hatchling
Very interesting observation. So your theory is, the larger the egg, the longer it will take to incubate. That actually makes sense in a way. If there is more space inside of the egg, one could assume that it would take the baby longer to develop to fill up that space.

ArborealsAnonymous

Staff member
Its just a guess, but its definitely true of leachie eggs. There are many factors including temperature that determine incubation time but i'd like to get a better idea of how it all interacts together.

Michael

The Chahoua Chamber
Staff member