Egg incubation time

Michael

The Chahoua Chamber
Staff member
83!? I thought LAC said a while back that past 82 they started having a bunch of eggs die?

Sorry, just catching up on old threads and saw this. I've been incubating at these temps for 3-4 years now, and actually have had great success. This Exo-Terra incubator is better at maintaining a range than a specific temp, so sometimes they are as high as 85F. Never had an issue.

Did you ever watch Allen Repashy's Gecko Symposium talk a few years ago in Daytona? He talks about keeping most of his New Caledonian species at, I think, 86F. Seems to have worked for him...

Dragonborn Exotics (Ryan)

Chahoua Hatchling
Sorry, just catching up on old threads and saw this. I've been incubating at these temps for 3-4 years now, and actually have had great success. This Exo-Terra incubator is better at maintaining a range than a specific temp, so sometimes they are as high as 85F. Never had an issue.

Did you ever watch Allen Repashy's Gecko Symposium talk a few years ago in Daytona? He talks about keeping most of his New Caledonian species at, I think, 86F. Seems to have worked for him...
That is a great video! Does anyone know where to find it? It has tons of great information. It would be nice to watch again.

Chahoua Hatchling
Holy moly you're growing monsters over there! I have also heard that higher temps, shorter incubation times leads to smaller, less vigorous babies. Apparently thats not true either!
That is an interesting theory to me. I would like to see some solid data behind that. I think the initial size of the egg laid and genetics/health of the female has more to do with hatch size, no matter what the incubation temp. For example, if the egg is smaller because it's the female's first clutch, or she is crashing and not getting the nutrients she needs and it is incubated at 84 degrees, it may end up hatching smaller just because of all the reasons I listed above. That's my though.